beautiful health

Standard

a few months ago I was diagnosed with diabetes – a few weeks ago I was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes.  This past summer has been really overwhelming because I’ve had to really fight this condition on so many fronts. I started practicing healthy eating, exercising more, and taking medicine. The first week I took the medicine – I felt like a robot – I couldn’t eat, I was nauseous, and I felt so unlike myself. Every few weeks, the medicine would make me sick and I pretty much wanted to throw up at the sight of any food.

My diagnosis was pretty sad – my HbA1c percentage (fancy name to test for insulin levels and blood sugar levels) was extremely high. The HIGHEST it could be. That didn’t scare me or my family much – we hit the ground running making sure I change my lifestyle.

Over the past few months  I really thought I was doing well. I went back to my endocrinologist a few weeks ago and she quickly gave me the news that I would be put on insulin. She told me that if I didn’t get on insulin I would eventually end up in the hospital. I left the office so upset – I couldn’t understand why I had diabetes and why no one had detected it until then. My parents and I wanted a second opinion so we talked to another doctor.  This past few weeks have been a true waiting period – I had to wait about a month before I could take another HbA1c test and last week I got another test.  Today I received the awesome news that my percentage dropped by 4 points – I don’t have to take insulin and I could even be taken off the pills with future progress. God is so amazing!

Even though the past month has been really trying and scary not knowing the outcome, I have constantly kept this one Bible verse in my mind.  

Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day.- 2 Corinthians 4:16. 

This verse sustained me. Yes my body is wasting away but my spirit lives and it will continue to live eternally. We will live forever! Even when health seems uncontrollable – we have a spirit that is living in us

Diabetes is unfortunately a common disease for Americans – especially African Americans. It may seem commonplace but it is not anything to play around with. If not treated, major organs CAN SHUT DOWN – everything can be affected. So I encourage anyone to get tested for diabetes. It is better to know now than wait until it’s too late. God gave me the wisdom to check my blood glucose levels (at which point I found that I was very sick).  Yes, our bodies waste away but we have to care for the temple that God has entrusted us with. Please visit http://www.diabetes.org for more information.

 

Also, I’ve been really listening to Oceans by Hillsong United constantly!  One verse really gets me so hype!

“Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders. Let me walk upon waters, wherever You would call me. Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander and my faith would be made stronger in the presence of my Savior” 

Leave a Reply

