Always low standards and expectations… always

Standard

So I went home this weekend to hang out with family and I stayed an extra day. I ended up leaving my house around 7 ish. So half way into the trip I was driving behind a Walmart 18 wheeler. Usually I speed past them but for some reason I didn’t. I noticed the slogan on the back of the truck : Always low prices … always . I recognized this slogan and apparently it was the major theme for 2011 (according to google). Immediately I thought ” Always low standards…always”. This has been on my mind for so long. I always wonder why some people don’t want better for themselves. I always thought about expectations and how people may not care too much for standards so their expectations are low. Or they had high standards and expectations for a person and they end up hurt, so they no longer have standards or expectations. Maybe we have low standards or expectations because we want low costs. Or we look for a low price (low expectations/ standards/easy companionship or relationships) because we don’t want to put any work into any relationships. What happens when we live a life similar to Walmart standards? Will we always have relationships are no substance.

In terms of friendships, we may continue to keep a friend regardless of how they treat you because you’ve known them so long or they seem nice. Or you have friends that you go to because they are convenient – you go out with them, you gossip with them, etc. What about the friend who is one-sided? Everything seems to be sneaky and confusing them and its frustrating because relationships are supposed to uplift. What happens when these friendships have no substance? You may start comprising your beliefs or pretending.

What about that guy or that girl that looks good or is convenient for physical contact? These relationships are build on vanities- arguments/verbal abuse/infidelity are overlooked because you long for a relationship. Can this person every give you anything beyond looks or cliche emotional support? Shoot…anybody can look good, but are they a good person at heart?

These relationship/friendship scenarios can get us caught up and create low standards and expectations. We deserve BETTER ! God wants to give us BETTER . People put up with this stuff and don’t realize it can break you down. Or we’ve been played into this perfect image that we can’t see anything wrong with our relationships. For myself, I always made excuses for myself saying “I’m a nice girl” while still holding onto vane friends or allowing guys to constantly get my hopes up. I had to really be real with myself and ask myself if I wanted higher standards and expectations of people.Once I sought God He allowed me to see the reality so that I could became a better me.

When can we can past this perfect image and really see that our actions show us we aren’t really living up to our descriptions? Can we stop utilizing people to give us an image? Low standards and expectations are so bad. When we don’t see our beautiful standards in God, can we ever have better expectations for ourselves? I seriously just want to encourage someone. We can take a step away from toxic relationships and reevaluate God’s purpose in our lives. Lets have better standards and expectations in for lives

I was really battling with my self image this weekend. I realized that and I went to a few verses to help me out. I was honest in my prayers and I didn’t present myself as a perfect person but a mentally weak person that constantly needs God. But I was really reminded of:

Psalms 139:14 – “I praise your because I am fearfully and wonderfully made, your works are wonderful, I know that full well”

Ephesians 2:10 – ” For we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do”

Isaiah 49: 5 – “And now the LORD says– he who formed me in the womb to be his servant to bring Jacob back to him and gather Israel to himself, for I am honored in the eyes of the LORD and my God has been my strength”

Galatians 1:15 – “But even before I was born, God chose me and called me by his marvelous grace. Then it pleased him”

God wants us to have better. He ordained it before we were even born. Even in moment of weaknesses, God sustains. He can give us strength to stand without certain people. With God, we can forgive those that have hurt us and pray for them. God can take self image issues or addictions and allow us to have higher standards and expectations steeped in Him.

Turn that Walmart slogan into a positive one “Always high standards and expectations….always

Be blessed

peace/love

TW

Leave a Reply

