sing your song. be a blessing.

Standard

I was supposed to write this up last Tuesday, but I keep getting caught up. Last Tuesday I had the privilege of seeing Harry Belafonte speak.

For those of you who don’t know him, Harry Belafonte is a Harry Belafonte is known worldwide for his achievements actor, producer, singer, but most importantly he was a human rights activist. He was key in funding a lot of he projects that SNCC/NAACP embarked on. As I sat in the front row watching his documentary and later hearing his words, one thought resonated me throughout the night….use my abilities to be a blessing to someone.

For me this was particularly emotional because I’ve always had the passion to help others. I fell off last semester because I became bogged down with school work, labs, etc. etc. etc. HIs interview/documentary really put things into perspective for me. I may not be MLK, Julian Bond, Harry Belafonte, but I realize I am somebody that can help. I have a mind, a heart, a soul, a spirit full of passion…just like these activists. I may not have millions or have billions of followers but I realized that I can use my abilities to be a blessing to someone. So that’s what I am going to do…I am going to continue to give, and be more aware of my actions/words towards people.

So no, you don’t need to start a revolution to be a blessing…a smile, kind word, carrying someones books, holding a door, anything you can offer is a blessing.

peace/love.

Harry Belafonte

Image

Julian Bond

Image

Leave a Reply

