so amazing to me.

Standard

I’m back at school and it’s been transformative in just a WEEK. I’m finding myself questioning my future, academics, love, friendships.

One thing I’ve learned(well this concept has been reinforced tremendously) in a week is that God places you in the right place at the right time! Regardless of what you may be looking for, you don’t have to worry, it will come out of no where. This was definitely shown in my quest to find a another key activity to get involved with on Grounds in addition to be an Office of African Affairs Peer Advisor. Last year I was a Big with Young Women Leaders Program (YWLP), but I decided not to do it this year. For some reason, God wouldn’t let me reapply to the program. I wrestled for a while wondering if I should continue with this program. First, I decided against it because I wanted to give another UVA student a chance to mentor a lovely individual. Second, I decided to apply for a few other positions. I decided to apply to be the YWLP intern, but unfortunately, I didn’t receive it or the other Women’s center positions I applied for . I also applied to be a research assistant in a lab focusing on the develop of children in LGBT families. Once again, I was turned down=(. With all the hits and misses, I became discouraged until I saw an email about a research assistant position in the cognitive lab a week ago. I quickly completed the app and I got an email the next day! I was hestitant about going in and interviewing because cognition is definitely a stretch for me. I am so used to focusing on the social psych aspect.  Luckily, the grad students are AMAZING! I felt comfortable and I learned that they too focused on a lot of social aspects in cognition. I received an email the next day offering me the position. I am really really excited about starting! I am a bit nervous because I don’t want to spend to much time away from my studies. But I am positive about it’s benefits=D

Moral of this post: you will be placed at the right place, at the right time. No need to force a school major, a friendship, a relationship, ANYTHING. Just be YOU and all else will follow. You will know when something is right for you or not.

I received emails about RA positions all the time, but it just so happened that I checked that email at that exact time and happened to apply. I just had a the strong feeling it was for me.

So appropriate.

peace/love

Leave a Reply

