womanifesto

Standard

Jill Scott’s album is truly an empowering album! My favorite track on The Light of the Sun is “Womanifesto”  this track blessed my ears with its spoken word melody. I LOVE SPOKEN WORD. period. BUT the message behind this song/spoken word/poem (haaa) is much more. The lyrics are so raw, blunt, but gracefully put together.  She started off Womanifesto with the words ” clearly, I am not a fat ass”. This caught me off guard at first, but Jill did this on purpose to catch the listener by explicitly addressing a stereotype about women who aren’t uber skinny or of the conventional (starving model) type LOL. The  rest of the song addresses the stereotypes of many women of color.

“I am eyes that sing/smile that brightens/touch that rings and supply euphoric release/I am a Grand Dame Queen Beast” is
my favorite part of this poem

Jill did an interview did an interview with OkayPlayer and she addressed “Womanifesto” and shared that she recited
a version of this poem to the White House back in May.

Jill stated ” The line that I start off with: ‘Clearly, I am not a fat ass’- and I say that because right now I really feel like women are being compartmentalized, externally and internally. The concept behind ‘Womanifesto,’ is to look at the other parts of yourself. I am a woman; I love being a woman. I have to define myself as larger and greater than my body parts. You are not just an ear or an elbow or a knee, you’re an entity. We all are. I just see how society is just putting us in little boxes. I see how we do it to ourselves.  I think we are more then just our physicality, we grow and we demand more and we appreciate more about ourselves. So that’s ‘Womanifesto,’ and I would easily suggest to any woman to write her own!”

Visit http://www.okayplayer.com/interviews/womanifesto-exclusive-jill-scott-interview.html (Sorry for the long links, but WordPress will not let me put a link into text =/ )and check out the lyrics are below

Womanifesto Lyrics

Clearly I am not a fat ass
I am active brain
and lip smacking peach deep
sometimes too aggressive in its honesty
and heart sweet
that loves whole-ly and completely
whom it may choose
whom ever it may choose

I am not gonna lie and passify
I am arms to hold
I am lips to speak
I am a muthafucking “G”

Strong legs that stroll off the 33 bus
or out of a money green Phantom confortably
Knees that bend to pray
clean from Ajax washings
hair that is thick and soft
Thigh that be-twixt
an amazing all expense grand prize

I am eyes that sing
smile that brightens
touch that rings
and supply euphoric release
I am a Grand Dame Queen Beast

I am warm
I am peace
From the roads of Botswana to 23rd Street
From the inside third eye
ever watching this wicked wicked system of things
I do see

I am friend to pen
and a lover of strong women
A Diamond to men
I am curious and interested like children
I welcome the wise to teach
appreciator of my culture
Thick not just from bone dense and eat

I have a rhythm in my ways
and yes I do crave the rhythm of my space
with a man that rejoices in God’s Grace

with faith I do hear to listen
two hands that fist
when forced pushes to shove
and your ego won’t submit

I am gifted
I am all of this
and indeed the Shit

Clearly I am not just an ass

peace/love

2 thoughts on “womanifesto

Leave a Reply

